Ngā Raukura i te Ao - Hall of Fame

Rotorua District High School 1914–1926, Rotorua High and Grammar School 1927-1958, Rotorua Boys' High School 1959-present.

Our Hall of Fame proudly presents former students who have achieved distinction at a national or international level in their academic, sporting, cultural, political or professional lives.

They are intended to serve as inspiration for the students of today and in the future and as a reminder that this school has a long and proud history from its establishment in 1914 and includes Rotorua District High School 1914-1926, Rotorua High and Grammar School 1927-1958 and Rotorua Boys’ High School 1959 to present.

Our selections are based on the above criteria and as contact and photographs have become available. Our Hall of Fame was started in 1991 by long serving staff member Mr John Raphael.

Rotorua District High School 1914-1926, Rotorua High and Grammar School 1927-1958, Rotorua Junior High School 1927-1933, Rotorua Boys' High School 1959-present:

Percy Allen - Politics
Philip Andrews - Author and Historian
Jackie Aratema - Rugby
Kevin Austin - Psychology
Trevor Berghan - Rugby
Sam Bewley - Cycling
James Bier - Science
Neville Black - Rugby
Kevin Blackwell - Cycling
Ray Boord - Service to the Community
Mark Bowick - Scholarship
Phillip Boyle - Machine Learning and Statistics
Shane Bradley - Business
Andrew Callander - Theology
Darryl Church - Architecture
Barry Colman - Business
Ray Cook - Business
Stuart Corson - Technology
Neville Crichton - Yachting and Business
Paul Croucher - Business
Ian Curry - Swimming
Harold Dansey - Service to the Community
Robert Dawson - Military
Mike Delany - Rugby
Tom Donnelly - Rugby
Callum Durward - Dentistry
Quentin Durward - Medicine
Elliot Kereopa - Rugby League
Andrew Kibblewhite - Civil Service
Inez Kingi - Service to the Community
Tanira Kingi - Agriculture

Dame Georgina Kirby - Service to the Community
Joe La Grouw - Business
Danny Lee - Golf
Burn Lewis - Computer Software Development
Jean Lodge - Netball
Hane Manahi - Military
David MacCalman - Paralympian
Donald Macfarlane - Military
Adam McGeorge - Football
David McGregor - Law and Army
Clayton McMillan - Rugby
Alan McNaughton - Rugby
Liam Messam - Rugby
Sam Messam - Football
Wharehuia Milroy - Maori Language and Customs
Dinny Mohi - Rugby
Mita Mohi - Rugby League
Chris Moore - Farming
Sir Howard Morrison - Entertainment
Ruia Morrison-Davy - Tennis
Craig Newby - Rugby
Carl O’Donnell - Swimming
Robert Orchard - Rugby League
Michael Quinn - Science
Clarke Raymond - Scholarship
Kenneth Rea - Theatre
Mark Rendell - Cycling
Keith Ridings - Medicine
Simon Rooke - Navy
Ben Sandford - Skeleton
Paul Scott - Rugby
Don Stafford - Author
Arthur Stone - Rugby

Darrin Stone - Rugby
George Stone - Rugby League
Maurice Stone - Touch
Shane Stone - Rugby
Shaquille Stone - Touch
Michael Sykes - Boxing
Arapeta Tahana - Service to the Community
Sir Peter Tapsell - Politics
Robert Thompson - Rugby
Brian Thomson - Olympian and Commonwealth Games
Sir Gordon Tietjens - Sevens
Peter Townsend - Commerce
James Traue - Librarian and Author
Keith Turner - Engineering and Business
Elisabeth Urquhart - Law
Neil Waka - Media
Mike Walker - Kayaking
Rawiri Waru - Science
Paul Watson - Forestry
Jamus Webster - Maori Performing Arts
Kimiora Webster - Maori Performing Arts
Te Kahuirangi Webster - Maori Performing Arts
Alec Wilson - Rugby
Mark Wilson - Business
Wihapi Winiata - Service to the Community
Ray Woolliams - Service to the Community
Alan Duff - Author
Robbie Eastham - Shooting

David Edward - Rugby
Harry Edward - Law
Ian Edward - Service to the Community
Stewart Edward - Service to the Community
Douglas Ewert - Diving
Jonty Farmer - Yachting
Clive Fugill - Maori Carving
Percy Gainsford - Military
Graham Geater - Shooting and Cycling
Craig Geater - Cycling
Kenneth George - Science
John Gordon - Badminton
Gary Grey - Cycling
William Grey - Motorsport
Dylan Hartley - Rugby
Jack Hayes - Military
Sir Trevor Henry - High Court Judge
Ken Hingston - Judge
Justin Hodgkiss - Scholarship
Te Hiko Hohepa - Community Service
Mathew Holten - Golf
Sam Hunt - Golf
Bradley Iles - Golf
Alfred James - Rugby
Taini Jamison - Netball
Matthew Jervis - Computer Science
Raymond Katting - Wrestling
Ray Keepa - Maori All Black
Kenneth Kennedy - Service to the Community

West Corridor of A Block

Ruia Morrison-Davy
Dame Georgina Kirby
Sir Howard Morrison
Sir Trevor Henry
Sir Peter Tapsell
Sir Gordon Tietjens
Ray Woolliams
Don Stafford
Jean Lodge
Ray Boord
Harold Dansey

Foyer of A Block

Bradley Iles
Mathew Holten
Danny Lee
Shaquille Stone
Rawiri Waru

South Corridor of A block

Ray Keepa
Sam Hunt
Mita Mohi
Dylan Hartley
Alfred James
Gary Grey
Clayton McMillan
Robert Thompson
Douglas Ewert
Elliot Kereopa
Craig Geater
Dinny Mohi
Jackie Aratema
Alec Wilson
Robert Orchard

Success Room of A block

All Blacks
Trevor Berghan
Neville Black
Paul Scott
Alan McNaughton
Arthur Stone
Craig Newby
Tom Donnelly
Mike Delany
Liam Messam

Jonty Farmer
Ben Sandford
Sam Bewley
Robbie Eastham
Sam Messam
Mike Walker
Adam McGeorge
Carl O’Donnell
Brian Thomson
David MacCalman

Commonwealth Games Athletes
Ian Curry
Raymond Katting
Kevin Blackwell
Graham Geater
Michael Sykes
Mark Rendell
John Gordon
Craig Newby
Liam Messam

East Corridor of A block

Neil Waka
Kenneth Kennedy
Kimiora Webster
Jamus Webster
Te Kahuirangi Webster
Shane Bradley
Taini Jamison
Elisabeth Urquhart
William Grey
Wihapi Winiata
Arapeta Tahana
Mark Wilson
Chris Moore
Inez Kingi
Darrin Stone
Shane Stone
Maurice Stone
George Stone
Arthur Stone
Justin Hodgkiss

Staircase in A Block

Clarke Raymond
Kenneth Rea
Peter Townsend
Andrew Kibblewhite
Clive Fugill
Ken Hingston

Upstairs Corridor of A Block

Mark Bowick
Hon Percy Allen
Stewart Edward
David Edward
Ian Edward
Harry Edward
Kenneth George
Te Hiko Hohepa
James Traue
Andrew Callander
Burn Lewis
Callum Durward
Darryl Church
David McGregor
James Bier
Keith Ridings
Keith Turner
Kevin Austin
Matthew Jervis
Michael Quinn
Paul Croucher
Paul Watson
Philip Andrews
Phillip Boyle
Quentin Durward
Stuart Corson
Tanira Kingi
Wharehuia Milroy

Millennium Centre

Joe La Grouw
Ray Cook
Neville Crichton

War Memorial Hall

Hane Manahi
Robert Dawson
Percy Gainsford
Simon Rooke
Donald Macfarlane
Jack Hayes

  1. Nominees must have attended Rotorua Boys’ High School or any of its three predecessor schools: the Rotorua District High School, Rotorua High & Grammar School or the Rotorua Junior High School. Current boys of the School are ineligible for admission.
  2. Nominees must have attained some level of success or prominence in any of the following fields of recognition for admission to the Hall of Fame: sport, politics, public service, judicial, law, business, professional, academic, literary, decorated war veterans, military, arts and service to the community.
  3. All Old Pupils who hold Doctorates whether earned by thesis, examination or conferred ​honoris causa​ (for honourable causes) are eligible for admission.
  4. Non-Old Pupils are eligible for Honorary Membership of the Hall of Fame for exceptional and/or outstanding service to the School.

Making a Nomination

Anyone can nominate a person who he or she thinks meets the Criteria for Admission and is worthy of Admission to the Rotorua Boys’ High School Hall of Fame.

Nominators must provide a good quality hard-copy or electronic photograph of the Nominee and a brief description of the reason(s) as to why he or she is being nominated for this honour. Completed nominations should be addressed and sent to:

Mr. K.J. Lyall,
Archivist and Historian,
Rotorua Boys’ High School,
P.O. Box 10148,
Rotorua 3046,
New Zealand


Added to basket

CheckoutContinue shopping